Bagillt is a village on the A548 coast road, in Flintshire, North Wales.

It has a surprising wealth of history. Dafydd ap Llewellyn was born at Hen Blas Castle. He reigned as Prince of Wales from 1240.

Like much of the River Dee estuary, Bagillt has a lot of industrial heritage and history, including lead, copper, coal, iron, chemicals and fibres.

Bagillt was an important harbour throughout the industrial revolution with as many as 30 ships calling each day, including freight and passenger traffic. The shipping faded away due to the silting up of the estuary and the arrival of the Chester to Holyhead railway in the mid 1800s. Bagillt station closed to freight and passenger traffic in the 1960s. There are some remains of the harbour wharves and altough Bagillt station is now disused, the platforms remain, abandoned and overgrown.

We take a look at the memorial which lists Ellen and Annie Crosby who tragically lost their lives in the sinking of RMS Lusitania.

We then find out why Bagillt is twinned with Laxey on the Isle of Man and it’s connection with the Snaefell Wheel.

Other fascinating clues of the history of Bagillt we find include the Cambrian Brewery and Bagillt Copper Works.

Useful Information

Location Bagillt CH6 6ED
Nearest Bus Stop Post Office
Nearest Railway Station Flint – a short bus ride away
Nearest Car Parking High Street Car Park CH6 6ED
Notes There are a couple of convenience stores in the village as well as 2 pubs and take-aways.